Testimonials

Looking forward to training with you all again

I would highly recommend this class to anyone wanting to build a strong foundation on trigger control. The method of teaching these principles is “where the money is.” I’m developing new, positive habits from what I learned from this class and will continue to grow as a better gunfighter as a result. Looking forward to training with you all again real soon.

Ron J.
Practical Fundamentals
Daytona Beach, Fla. - Jan. 2018

My gun handling improved exponentially

Really fantastic. The course exceeded my expectations. My gun handling improved exponentially. The instructors were not only excellent, they were very decent, approachable, and positive people. That makes a big difference.

Brian H.
Practical Fundamentals
Daytona Beach, Fla. - Jan. 2018

So much positive information

There was so much positive information provided during this intense two day course but the two key takeaways, for me, were the trigger bump practices and keying in and seeing the front sight bob or lift as you prepare for the subsequent shot.

A pretty common experience is that so often when aiming and just prior to firing, we tense in anticipation of the shot and often dip/drop the shot – the “let it happen” statement really hit home with me and resulted in incredible shots and subsequent follow-up round placements.

Thank you OpSpec – it was a pleasure.

Nic T.
Former Military
Practical Fundamentals
Daytona Beach, Fla. - Jan. 2018

Made a noticeable difference in my shooting skills!

It’s a great, highly educational, well thought out class with just enough instruction and live fire to keep your attention and interest throughout the day. Nothing seemed to drag on, and nothing seemed to move on too quickly.

It really made a noticeable difference in my shooting skills!

Glenn W.
Practical Fundamentals
Daytona Beach, Fla. - Jan. 2018

It was an awesome class

I really wasn’t sure what to expect. It was an awesome class and I am excited to continue my training and practice. Thanks.

Rob C.
Practical Fundamentals
Daytona Beach, Fla. - Jan. 2018

I went into this training with high expectations due to the past testimonials and they were exceeded

I went into this training with high expectations due to the past testimonials and they were exceeded. Being basically self taught with the exception of basic firearm safety and handling exposure, I have a lot to unlearn.

While two days was not quite long enough to erase all my bad habits – I do see a path forward to continue to approve. The instructors were exceptional with the way they interacted with the group and individuals. My “aha moment” was the importance of dry firing and the how you can train realistically utilizing dry firing as the foundation.

Chris L.
Former Military
Practical Fundamentals
Daytona Beach, Fla. - Jan. 2018

Best course I have taken dealing with fundamentals in general and trigger management

This was my 10th training course, not including military and FLETC provided training. By far, this was the best course I have taken dealing with fundamentals in general and trigger management specifically. The level of detail in the demos and lecture explanations as to why certain techniques work better than others went far beyond any other course I have taken. This is an outstanding course to start your training year with to ensure you have the fundamental tools needed to get the most out of your shooting.

Ryan B.
Active Law Enforcement, Former Military
Practical Fundamentals
Daytona Beach, Fla. - Jan. 2018

The class was filled with professionals and the instructors topped the list

I learned a great deal in a short time… but the pace was exactly what I needed not too fast but fast enough to keep me challenged.

The class was filled with professionals and the instructors topped the list. Thanks guys.

Tom J
Former Military
Practical Fundamentals
Daytona Beach, Fla. Jan. 2018

The one-on-one training was invaluable

I really enjoyed my three day course! The one-on-one training was invaluable to my progress. I am already planning to attend many more OpSpec Training classes, especially MOAC!

Michael N.
Active LEO
Applied Fundamentals
Mesa, Ariz. - Dec. 2017

The OpSpec Training instructors were top notch

This was my third Operation Specific class after Practical Fundamentals and MOAC. Even though MOAC was billed as a high level class, I felt the Practical Fundamentals was more difficult because it focused solely on trigger reset and prep – in other words, the foundation for faster shooting. As we discussed in class, this is simple but not easy.

I would retake this class because it is the single most important skill I need to improve my shooting.

As usual, the Op Spec instructors were top notch.

Allan S.
Applied Fundamentals
Mesa, Ariz. - Dec. 2017

The instructors were very helpful

The instructors were very helpful in explaining concepts and providing individualized feedback. Emphasis on safe gun handling skills, reloading on the timer and strong hand/weak hand shooting proved to be an important addition to the other training.

Anonymous
MOAC (Pistol)
Paducah, Ky. - Oct. 2017

MOAC is the only course I will come to year after year

I have limited training dollars. I make it a point to do research on courses and spend my money wisely. In the last three years I have had the opportunity to train with some of the finest instructors.

MOAC is the only course I will come to year after year.

I would say that the OpSpec Training course (MOAC) is the BEST all around firearms course I have taken. The class incorporates the lost art of simply making sure you put your rounds on target.

This is my second year back and more then the curriculum, it was the staff that brought me back. The instructors come with top notch resumes and have the skill set to step up on the line and prove it. That’s what counts.

I would highly recommend you take these guys if you want to understand how to put rounds on target and above all have a great time, in a safe environment.

Marc
Firearms Instructor
MOAC (Pistol)
Paducah, Ky. - Oct. 2017

This class helped me learn how to shoot well

I’ve been to firearms instruction all over the country and no one can put all the mechanics of shooting together better than Jerry Jones. This class helped me learn how to shoot well and correct problems that may arise.

Allen M.
Former Military
MOAC (Pistol)
Paducah, Ky. - Oct. 2017

EVERY time I learn something new

This is my third trip to MOAC, and EVERY time I learn something new. The OpSpec crew does a fantastic job of bringing in new techniques or tweeks on existing techniques that make them easier to learn and incorporate into one’s shooting and dry practice. I noticed a big improvement in my shooting over the course of the week and I gained still more tools to drive it farther.

Shooting Bill Drills on 6″ plates at 50 yards strong hand only and support hand only and making a high percentage of the hits was a real eye opener. I’d highly recommend MOAC (or any OpSpec class for that matter) to anyone who is serious about moving their shooting forward.

N.T.
MOAC (Pistol)
Paducah, Ky. - Oct. 2017

Always feel the safest at OpSpec classes

Another great class from the folks at OpSpec. I’ve trained with many different instructors and always feel the safest at OpSpec classes. Firearm operation fundamentals are always stressed at OpSpec. A lot of classes I take end up being fun for shooting a bunch but OpSpec teaches the proper fundamentals and builds skills from there.

I ALWAYS leave the class with training routines I can take home and practice.

Marc A.
MOAC (Pistol)
Paducah, Ky. - Oct. 2017

Opened my mind to a path to excellence

Brilliant class that opened my mind to a path to excellence. Gave the student a bridge to understand what the master knows and techniques to increase their own skills.

Bob D.
Firearms Instructor
Practical Fundamentals
SIG Sauer Academy, Sept. 2016

This was a great class

This was a great class that allowed me to tune up my fundamentals, and learn how to train in the future to continue to improve. Jerry Jones, my instructor broke down some concepts in a way that was more helpful than I was taught in the past.

John O.
Practical Fundamentals
Paducah, Ky. - June 2016

… Well worth the money and the time and the slogging through the muck and mire of San Antonio. Thanks Jerry and Bruce. Well done.

Dick C.
Practical Fundamentals
San Antonio, Texas - March 2015

The Steel Challenge plates on Sunday were are a really great way to combine presentation of concepts and practice for concepts already covered.

Colin W.
Advanced Competition Pistol
Gap, Pa. - May 2016

The coaching aspect of this class is a valuable tool. Good to see the students take lessons and apply them as a coach to help other shooters.

Ray P.
LEO
Practical Fundamentals
Piru, Calif. - Jan. 2015

Worth far more than the price of admission

I attended the MOAC course in Mesa, Arizona. The course was an excellent value for the cost, and the takeaway worth far more than the price of admission. For many years any semblance of speed in my shooting was restricted to the time between one shot and when the sight picture returned to normal, before I could fire again. By the time the course was finished I was able to precisely control and observe sight movement in rapid firing and place shot strings in a small zone on the steel.

I became acutely aware of my own shortcomings as a shooter, and was provided the means to improve them, as well as drills and exercises for homework and to use as tools beyond the training in the months to come. Four instructors were present, all of whom gave excellent counsel, well placed critiques, and tips, pointers, training, lectures, and instruction that applied at the most fundamental level to help me as an individual. Class size was kept small, and it became quickly apparent that the instructors didn’t miss much, if anything. We were kept honest, and no one had an opportunity to rest on their laurels. Regardless of our backgrounds or skill levels entering the class, the instructor cadre worked hard to ensure that each student progressed in safety, handling, understanding, skill, speed, accuracy, presentation, technique, and procedure.

Emphasis throughout the program was on safety, with all basic safety policies, rules and procedures reviewed several times a day, as well as a medical briefing prior to every session, morning and afternoon. Safety was emphasized on the line as well as the loading area and classroom settings.

The class was not full of war stories, with just enough personal experience introduced to punctuate points, and a great deal of hands-on instruction. Instructors provided demonstrations, and emphasized learning by doing. Numerous timed drills were provided to allow students to measure their progress during the class.

The MOAC training is immensely beneficial to any shooter, whether military, law enforcement, competitor, or private carry or marksmanship. Every aspect of the training, which was logical and well organized, worked toward making the shooter better, safer, faster, and more efficient. I was excited to have the opportunity to attend the class, but came away more enthused and jazzed about what we covered and where I could go with it than when I went in.

The cost of the course, especially given travel, time off work, ammunition, tuition, equipment and other aspects, was not cheap, but well worth the investment. I have no reservations about recommending OpSpec Training, or the instructors who presented the material, and suggest that anyone seeking to improve their shooting, regardless of discipline or profession, avail themselves of the classes. I will be attending more.

Mike M.
Former LEO
MOAC
Mesa, Ariz. - Dec. 2016

Simunition training is exceptionally valuable to responsible concealed carry holders. Furthermore, Jerry Jones and his team offer formidable instruction and guidance throughout the curriculum. I look forward to returning for continuing education.

TDD
Pistol CQB
Paducah, Ky. - March 2017

Before this course my shooting was inconsistent at best, and sometimes just flat out terrible. The light came on during the course, and my shooting improved dramatically. I’ve made this my pledge: “I will see the sights, I will feel the trigger, I will call my shot.” Thanks for helping me put it all together.

Lee B.
Practical Fundamentals
SIG Sauer Academy - June 2015

I learned quite a bit from this course and have picked up many new skills that I feel confident that I can practice and develop on my own. Because of the broad range of skill sets taught in this course, I will likely re-take it again in the next year or two.

Rob L.
Practical Fundamentals
SIG Sauer Academy - June 2015

I could see my accuracy improving, hour by hour, as the class progressed. I didn’t expect that, to be honest. Bruce’s tips on mental attitude and thoughts on trigger prep were invaluable. Harold gave me a lot of input on the technical aspects of what I was doing. Between the two of them, I somehow improved noticeably, during the first day.

George W.
Practical Fundamentals
Richmond, Calif. - June 2016

Excellent, safe instructors with a tremendous amount of firearms knowledge. I would recommend anyone who owns or carries a firearm to take the Pistol CQB class. It opened my eyes to how to look for the deadly angles in your home. I completely changed my home defense plan based on this class.

Wes H.
Pistol CQB
Paducah, Ky. - March 2017

The instructors complemented each other

The teaching methods utilized were very comprehensive. This was the first time that trigger control was taught as a process. The emphasis and importance put on dry firing was invaluable.

It was nice to have an explanation when teaching different techniques rather than “just do it this way.” The instructors complemented each other which made the course content more valuable and understandable. Excellent course and content, excellent teaching and excellent instructors.

Robert C.
Former Military
Advanced Pistol Operator
SIG Sauer Academy - Sept. 2017

The instructors have real world experience

The instructors have real world experience and are able to appropriately diagnose shooter issues quickly and match the shooters skill needed for that individuals job or mission.

Brad G.
Former Military, Firearms Instructor
Advanced Pistol Operator
SIG Sauer Academy - Sept. 2017

Very knowledgeable and patient

Jerry and HR are both very knowledgeable and patient. They don’t mind repeating the same point over or use a parable to illustrate the point.

I unlearned all the bad habits I’ve gotten from 22 years of being in the NYPD.

L.K.
Former LEO
Practical Fundamentals
Atlantic City, N.J. - Sept. 2017

Made me a more confident shooter.

Michael S.
Practical Fundamentals
Atlantic City, N.J. - Sept. 2017

Instructors are clear in their directions and then constantly by your side

This course offers a different way to learn the art of shooting. It focuses on the process which will ultimately lead to superior accuracy and speed. The instructors are clear in their directions and then constantly by your side to offer tips and methods to accomplish the next step. Although I have taken numerous others classes this one would be my #1 suggestion to family and friends.

Blair G. Sr.
Practical Fundamentals
Atlantic City, N.J. - Sept. 2017

I had a great time!

I really enjoyed the class and got a lot more out of it than I expected. When I first called about the class I was a little hesitant because I thought that I would be in over my head, and that I wasn’t going to be a good enough shooter to keep up. But the guy on the phone was great and convinced me that the class was just what I was looking for to try to increase my speed in drawing from the holster and getting that first shot off quickly and on target.

I feel the skills I learned pertain to all aspects of shooting, and will help me to become a better shooter overall. They made me feel very comfortable from the beginning and I had a great time! I would actually take this class again to reinforce what I just learned, and would love forth to offer some other classes to choose from to broaden my horizons … keep up the good work.

Liz
Practical Fundamentals
Atlantic City, N.J. - Sept. 2017

Felt very confident implementing everything I learned

Ok, so I waited to complete this survey until after I did my dryfire drills and then went to the range to test my skills. Major difference. Felt very confident implementing everything I learned and it did make a difference for me in how I shot. Much faster and accurate follow up shots which was the major weakness in my shooting. Looking forward to further honing my shooting skills. Thanks again for a great class Jerry and Harold!

Eric L.
Practical Fundamentals
Richmond, Calif. - June 2017

The primary focus and content were spot on

Practical Fundamentals — great class! Both Jerry and HR made for a great contrasting instructional team. The primary focus and content were spot on and I am certain that with more work and time, will allow me to advance further and faster than had I not taken this course. I have had several other courses, some with big names. This one speaks to the core of one’s ability to place your rounds as desired, and is ‘fundamental’ to the advancement as a pistol operator. My friend and I had both hit walls regarding advancement, which competition had made clear. This class is going to enable us to break through.

Those who want to really progress, owe it to themselves to take this course. I wish I had taken it earlier.

B.Y.
Practical Fundamentals
Richmond, Calif. - June 2017

This class was excellent

I’m a new shooter with less than a year’s worth of experience, and with my limited training I was concerned that I’d be out of my league when the other shooters in the class. While its true that the class had quit a few very experienced shooters, I was pleasantly surprised to find that the concepts and drills that Jerry and his team were teaching were applicable to all the students in the class no matter the skill level or experience. In no time I felt very comfortable shooting shoulder to shoulder with all my fellow students no matter the skill level as we were all learning. This class was excellent.

Chris H.
Practical Fundamentals
Richmond, Calif. - June 2017

Constructive criticism and positive feedback

Jerry and Harold were excellent instructors. You provided constructive criticism and positive feedback to individual shooters throughout the class. The techniques taught in Practical Fundamentals provide a shooter with the building blocks necessary to become a better shooter. Thanks.

Michael E.
Practical Fundamentals
Richmond, Calif. - June 2017

World class, hands-on instruction

Practical Fundamentals training in Richmond was by far the best firearms training I have ever experienced. Jerry and Harold took our class to the next level in two days. Operation Specific Training will give you practical shooting skills and will help you implement trigger control.

The personal, world class, hands on instruction sets this training apart for the rest. If you can only go to one training this year make Practical Fundamentals the one!

Paul D.
Practical Fundamentals
Richmond, Calif. - June 2017

Clearly there is something for everyone

As a new shooter, this was one of my first classes, and I was looking for a course that was basic enough for me, but advanced enough that I felt like I was getting a significant value. I couldn’t have been happier with my choice in OpsSpec Training. For two days I stood shoulder to shoulder with shooters that had dozens of years of experience and some that had taken the course multiple times, and I never felt out of place, and neither did they.

Clearly there is something for everyone, and rest assured I’ll be looking for the next OpsSpec course to take!

Chris H.
Practical Fundamentals
Richmond, Calif. - June 2017

Highly recommended

Thoroughly 100% professional, safe and very informative. After going through the class, I understand why some folks feel inclined to take it more than once. Highly recommended.

Phillip P.
Practical Fundamentals
SIG Sauer Academy, June 2017

Great class for even seasoned shooters

Bruce and Doug did an excellent job at the SIG Academy. As a NRA Basic Pistol, Rifle and Reloading instructor I will use my obtained knowledge to help new to shooting students progress in the shooting sports. Great class for even seasoned shooters. Competition and Tactical technique drills well received by all students.

Robert K.
Firearms Instructor
Practical Fundamentals
SIG Sauer Academy, June 2017

Practical Fundamentals was a fantastic class

Practical Fundamentals was a fantastic class, and Bruce, Doug and Steve were amazing instructors. Definitely interested in taking both Practical Fundamentals and other OpSpec offerings in the future. Keep up the great work.

Anonymous
Firearms Instructor
Practical Fundamentals
SIG Sauer Academy, June 2017

Excellent training techniques and very professional

Excellent training techniques and very professional staff at this Practical Fundamentals session! I should have done this years ago, as it provides essential building blocks and has proven techniques which demonstrate positive and satisfying results.

I would recommend this session to anyone who wants to advance their skills and move to the next level of marksmanship and performance.

The [OpSpec Training] organization has spent a great deal of time and energy in preparation for these sessions, and continues to refine the course as new techniques become available.

Doug S.
Practical Fundamentals
Wilmington, Ohio - May 2017

Practical Fundamentals is your class!

If you no longer consider yourself a beginner, you find that great gear only takes you so far, and you really want to learn to shoot well, Practical Fundamentals is your class! The focus on marksmanship [and] this class fills all the holes left by other classes that focus on defense. The instructors made us amaze ourselves!

Dan C.
Practical Fundamentals
Wilmington, Ohio - May 2017

The singular best pistol class I’ve ever taken

The singular best pistol class I’ve ever taken. The process oriented, rather than results orientated focus ended up making a huge difference in my ability to deliver tight groups on target quickly.

Bill T.
Advanced Pistol Marksmanship
Valencia, Calif. - April 2017

Exactly what I needed…

I have taken a few firearms instruction courses in the past. I now wish I had never taken them and had only taken Jerry’s courses. I have a lot of bad habits that I need to break in order to truly improve as a shooter. Jerry gave me knowledge on exactly what I needed to complete my skills on a daily basis. I very much look forward to taking more of his classes in the near future.

Michael P.
Advanced Pistol Marksmanship
Valencia, Calif. - April 2017

The experience was first-rate in every regard

MOAC 2016 offered outstanding opportunity to learn in an immersive environment. Operation Specific Training left no stones unturned and the only complaint was time passed too darn fast!

Jerry Jones and Bruce Gray exuded mastery in teaching all of us skills, and where we fell short, a clear path for further training was succinctly outlined to guide us to success. After all, there’s always substantial room for improvement.

Jerry dissected grip and trigger management peerlessly and Bruce added subsequent insights founded upon decades of competitive shooting and analysis. Also, two “assistant” (a gross understatement!) coaches, provided constant monitoring throughout each evolution. Furthermore, if anyone desired individual attention regarding a “glitch or hitch” in technique, video assistance and immediate follow-up was provided.

One exercise which is seared into my memory was when my proverbial wheels came off. The drill was conducted on day five following 32+ hours of instruction: the direction was “GO FAST!”

I must predicate this with the safety protocols of all Operation Specific Training: safety is paramount and non-negotiable! If any student observes an unsafe act, they are to call STOP! At such time, the line freezes and the condition is evaluated. Also, safety standards are scrutinized twice daily: first morning and after lunch.

In the aforementioned drill, students were encouraged to push the envelope regarding safely drawing and firing. After several magazines, I was deeply frustrated with my performance; however, I reflected on one salient point: my frustration was due to my inability to consistently achieve a “best” grip at speed. Why did it frustrate me so much and how did I know this? It was due to Jerry’s dissection of the minutiae of the draw and shooting stroke – BINGO – it was seared into memory! Afterwards, one of the astute “coaches” dissected trigger preparation using an ingenious simple formula that was akin to a lightning bolt of learning. I shall forego the details as everyone deserves to experience such revelations from the source.

In summary, from arrival to departure, the experience was first-rate in every regard. Operation Specific carefully selects their hosts to ensure a seamless transition for all who travel for their training.

TD
MOAC
Mesa, Ariz. - Dec. 2016

The best firearms training I have received to date, hands down!

This class, as expected, was outstanding and really immersed me into learning my trigger and how to use it in a way I never had before. The high round count took the concepts and cemented them. This class gave me so much to practice and work on this next year before I take my next OpSpec class.

I have had a lot of firearms training from various places in the past. I can honestly say if you have even considered getting good training would be a fool to not highly consider an OpSpec class. OpSpec Training offers the best firearms training I have received to date, hands down!

Alan H.
Former LEO, Firearms Instructor
MOAC
Mesa, Ariz. - Dec. 2016

Very effective coaching by the multiple instructors

MOAC is an excellent training course that I would highly recommend to others that are looking to elevate their shooting skills to a whole new level entirely. Effectively engaging targets using high round counts in a safe manner is part and parcel for this course. Being made aware of my shooting skill deficiencies and then training through those changes needed to become a better shooter was a great outcome. One attending MOAC can certainly appreciate the very effective coaching by the multiple instructors that are present. Job well done…

Anonymous
Former Military
MOAC
Mesa, Ariz. - Dec. 2016

Far and away the best training I have ever had anywhere

After attending MOAC 2015 in New Hampshire, I had high expectations for MOAC 2016 in Arizona. I wasn’t even close. The class was far above and beyond. Many new things learned, great instruction to get the information across, and many repetitions at various distances to really groove things in. Far and away the best training I have ever had anywhere.

Nick T.
MOAC
Mesa, Ariz. - Dec. 2016

I left the range each day with a smile on my face

If you want to learn to shoot fast and accurately this is the class for you. There are plenty of other classes available where you can make a lot of noise and spend a lot of hard-earned money, but none that explains in detail how to go fast and then practices each of the steps required for success. The class was challenging but I left the range each day with a smile on my face.

Alan S.
Former LEO, Firearms Instructor
MOAC
Mesa, Ariz. - Dec. 2016

Their methods of instruction are solid and to the point

If you want to learn how to shoot and accurate then the MOAC is for you! The instructors are great and their methods of instruction are solid and to the point. The high round count of saturation training will make you a better shooter. Bring a speedloader!

Lance N.
Former LEO, Military & Firearms Instructor
MOAC
Mesa, Ariz. - Dec. 2016

Perfect follow on to Practical Fundamentals

Excellent class. Perfect follow on to Practical Fundamentals I took over a year ago. Time between classes gave me enough time to absorb and incorporate PF techniques, allowing me to concentrate on APM material. Instructors Jerry and Ray were excellent, giving accurate and timely feedback. Appreciate their organizational skills to keep schedule, approachability, and good sense of humor.

Mike V.
Advanced Pistol Marksmanship
Richmond, Calif. - Nov. 2016

Helps you realize how much better you can become

It is amazing what difference a day makes!. You start off in the morning shooting so-so, and by the afternoon you are (almost) an expert. No matter how much you think you know, taking the class helps you realize how much better you can become.

Steve D.
Advanced Pistol Marksmanship
Richmond, Calif. - Nov. 2016

Truly an outstanding class

Truly an outstanding class that I would recommend to anyone interested in perfecting their skills and discipline in handgun marksmanship. The instructors use real world examples and teach practical, repeatable skills that will yield dividends for may years to come.

Michael P.
Practical Fundamentals
Richmond, Calif. - Nov. 2016

I’m saving tremendous amounts of money by not wasting ammo

I have taken several pistol training classes from Operation Specific, and I learn a tremendous amount each time. Prior to this class, when practicing at the range, I was mostly burning through ammo and getting nowhere. Not only are my skills progressing well, but I am saving tremendous amounts of money by not wasting ammo with little learned.

Steve D.
Practical Fundamentals
Richmond, Calif. - Nov. 2016

An excellent class

An excellent class for learning, understanding, and practicing the fundamentals of pistol usage and control in various scenarios.

James S.
Practical Funamentals
Richmond, Calif. - Nov. 2016

Jerry is an excellent instructor

Jerry is an excellent instructor. Great feed back and communication.

Allen M.
Instructor
Advanced Pistol Operator
Paducah, Ky. - Oct. 2016

Exactly what I needed

I thought the class was excellent and was exactly what I needed. The sheer repetition really taught me to focus on the sight picture. At the end of the class I understood and knew what it was like when everything came together. I’m definitely not “there” yet, however I do understand what it looks and feels like when everything comes together. Equally important I also know what I need to do to continue to improve.

I also though the instructor was excellent. He was really good at offering suggestions for improvement, but also knew when to back off. Sometimes, as a student, you need to figure things out on your own, and he walked that fine line well.

I understand safety is a big concern anytime firearms are used, and this goes for students as well as the instructor. Having never taken a class from OpSpec I have a legitimate concern that I will feel and be safe during the class. I thought safety was handled at the appropriate level for the class and at no time did I ever feel safety was lacking or I was in an unsafe environment.

Jay Z.
Advanced Pistol Operator
Paducah, Ky. - Oct. 2016

One simply could not ask more!

Just completed my second class with Mr. Jerry Jones, and once again, I enjoyed a formidable learning experience.

Truly, Mr. Jones is the rare instructor who is consummately committed on his students’ learning and development.  He espouses process oriented marksmanship and will dissect each component so the process is both understood and safely executed. One simply could not ask more!

BluFox
Advanced Pistol Operator
Paducah, Ky. - Oct. 2016

Practical Fundamentals is a must do class

Great class. Can take the class several times and still gain significant amount of new information.

Practical Fundamentals is a must do class for those wishing to be more accurate, better shooters. Need to practice the bump drill daily to perfect trigger preparation.

Neil
LEO
Practical Fundamentals
SIG Sauer Academy - Sept. 2016

He did not disappoint

I took the class to benefit from Bruce’s teaching. He did not disappoint. I am very fortunate to have had the opportunity to benefit from his insights. I say that as one who has had the opportunity to learn from a number of instructors, including: Gunsite (Ed Stock), Hackathorn (Ron Avery) and briefly, Ayoob. Were I able only to get further instruction from one person, I would choose Bruce.

Anonymous
Practical Fundamentals
SIG Sauer Academy - Sept. 2016

This class could easily be described as life-changing

Although this was presented as a more advanced class, the fundamentals of trigger control and the reasons for it have benefited me immeasurably. I wish I’d encountered such instruction years ago as I would be a better shooter today. I know that in a year (yes, I’ll keep practicing the Bump Drill) my shooting will be markedly improved over how it was prior to my entering the class.

The view towards shooting, detaching myself from the result, resounds with other recommendations I’ve heard in life. My too brief two days in this class reinforced lessons I will take to other events and activities. Although this next statement could be described as hyperbolic, I’ll stand by my impression as, for a dedicated shooter, this class could easily be described as life-changing.

Eric
Former Military
Practical Fundamentals
SIG Sauer Academy, Sept. 2016

Excellent experience, start to finish

Igor
Practical Fundamentals
SIG Sauer Academy, Sept. 2016

By far the best

Of the over 100 classes, workshops, training seminars, etc, I have attended in both my personal and professional life, this has been by far the best. The amount of actual useable knowledge I obtained in this class far exceeded my expectation. I am looking forward to my next training class!

Fred M.
Former Military
Practical Fundamentals
SIG Sauer Academy, Sept. 2016

The class was very valuable

Overall I thought the class was very valuable and the instructors, facilities, etc. were very good. The instructors took time after class to work with students and answer their questions.

Anonymous
Instructor
Practical Fundamentals
SIG Sauer Academy - Sept. 2016

Flawless!

I don’t think anyone can top this level of instruction it was flawless!

F.S.
Active LEO
Practical Fundamentals
Valencia, Calif. - June 2016

Take the time to refocus on the fundamentals

If you take your firearms training serious and want to take your skills to the next level, I highly recommend taking the practical fundamentals course. Far too often we rely on the newest wazoo equipment or trigger job to shoot better when in reality we need to bring it back and focus on the fundamentals. Proficiency with a firearm is a perishable skill and we all need to take the time to refocus on the fundamentals of good marksmanship. Don’t let your ego cloud get the best of you. Be safe, train hard and God bless.

Aaron J.
Active LEO, Instructor
Practical Fundamentals
Valencia, Calif. - June 2016

Excellent baseline of fundamental pistol skills

This class provided an excellent baseline of fundamental pistol skills from which to build an effective personal training regime.

David P.
Practical Fundamentals
Paducah, Ky. - June 2016

Training done right!

Training done right! Read the course information and you won’t be disappointed. Jerry Jones is as good an instructor as I have encountered during weapons training. He will provide you the roadmap and you just need to execute. He was helpful to students and did not belittle them when having troubles. I say it again you will not be disappointed!

David K.
Practical Fundamentals
Paducah, Ky. - June 2016

The building blocks needed for quick and accurate shooting

The instruction I received in this class is the building blocks needed for quick and accurate shooting. Safety is stressed as the most important thing and no rounds went down-range without a lesson attached to them.

Larry L.
Practical Fundamentals
Paducah, Ky. - June 2016

I really appreciated the personal attention and instruction

As a ‘distinguished senior’ who is relatively new to IDPA and USPSA, I came away with specific practice activities/routines which I’m confident will improve my performance. I really appreciated the personal attention and instruction that each of us received.

Mike S.
Practical Fundamentals
SIG Sauer Academy, June 2016

All of the instructors were professional

Practical Fundamentals was the best class for me at this stage in my development as an IDPA/USPSA shooter. All of the instructors were professional and have a wealth of knowledge and practical experience that they shared with their students. I firmly believe that if I practice their techniques and drills I will move up at least one classification.

Jim P.
Practical Fundamentals
SIG Sauer Academy, June 2016

I got a lot more out of it the second time around

This was my second Practical Fundamentals Class. I believe that I got a lot more out of it the second time around. I would highly recommend this class to any shooter at any level. Lots of one on one instruction. Thanks for a great experience!

Gary W.
Practical Fundamentals
SIG Sauer Academy, June 2016

I have gained a lot of great tools

Excellent class. I feel like I have gained a lot of great tools to help me become a better shooter. I am new to the sport and Bruce, Harold and Steve took the time to make me feel at ease and gave me a lot of great tips for improving my skills.

Karen B.
Practical Fundamentals
SIG Sauer Academy, June 2016

Great mix of instructors

Bruce and staff are excellent! Great mix of instructors that bring real world experience to the course.

Joe G.
Practical Fundamentals
SIG Sauer Academy, June 2016

Class was taught in an extremely safe manner

I learned a tremendous amount, and understand what I have to work on. The class was taught in an extremely safe manner. The instructors were excellent.

Steve D.
Advanced Pistol Operator
Richmond, Calif. - June 2016

I learned a lot about where I’m at with my own shooting

Advanced Competition Pistol was one of the toughest classes I’ve ever taken, not only due to the round count and challenging drills and targets, but because of how much self-examination of the shooter’s ego and motivations was involved through detailed lectures and question/answer sessions. I learned a lot about where I’m at with my own shooting, what I can get better at, and more importantly, how to continue forging ahead with improvement. I’d recommend this class to any competitive shooter who’s trying to break through plateaus or keep moving up in skill level.

Annette E.
Advanced Competition Pistol
Gap, Pa. - May 2016

Take your shooting to another level

This was an excellent class for those who want to move beyond the basic fundamentals of shooting to understand how the body and mind implement the mechanical actions. Take your shooting to another level by learning how to use the subconscious part of the mind to link your training to your match performance.

Jeff. B
Advanced Competition Pistol
Gap, Pa. - May 2016

Any class with Bruce is a great class!

Any class with Bruce is a great class! He explains his thought process and philosophy of shooting in a truly engaging and approachable way.

Rachael
Advanced Competition Pistol
Gap, Pa. - May 2016

The lecture portion of the class was worth the price of the class

The lecture portion of the class was worth the price of the class. I would like to see a book with this material described in detail. As a matter of fact, a split book on competition and tactical shooting by OpSpec Training would be awesome. A perfect combination. The hospitality of the range was great. I would like to see some OpSpec apparel and perhaps a manual to accompany the classes. Looking forward to more classes.

Gary J.
Advanced Competition Pistol
Gap, Pa. - May 2016

5 stars!

I very much enjoyed the class and I would recommend your class to anyone who wants to be challenged, is teachable, and wants to move to a higher level of training and understanding. This is the second class that I’ve taken taught by the duo Jerry and Bruce. 5 stars!

DS
Advanced Pistol Operator
Richmond, Calif. - May 2016

I shot more Alphas and hit the steel more consistently

I am a USPSA Master class shooter and I hit a plateau for the last six months that I have been struggling to overcome. Bruce was fantastic with his explanation of the Bump Drill and trigger manipulation. In the class, I shot more alphas and hit the steel more consistently than ever. I would definitely recommend this class to everyone I see. I also look forward to taking it again.

Jeff W.
Advanced Competition Pistol
Gap, Pa. - May 2016

Excellent training for intermediate to professional shooters

One of the best three days of pistol training I have ever spent. This course is a must for those that want to really sharpen their marksman skills, and learn how to drive the gun hard. Very organized curriculum with excellent instruction and real world experience. Not for beginners but excellent training for intermediate to professional shooters. Look forward to attending again next year.

NK
Advanced Pistol Operator
Richmond, Calif., May 2016

Every law enforcement officer would be well served by taking these classes

I have been working in law enforcement for twenty years. I learned techniques and other shooting skills I would have never thought possible. I would rate this class and the instructors with an A+. They cared about what they were teaching and the students progress. I think every law enforcement officer would be well served by taking pistol fundamentals and the advanced pistol operator class.

Robert K.
Active LEO
Advanced Pistol Operator
Richmond, Calif., May 2016

They didn’t let me down

I had asked Jerry and Ray to get on me about things I was doing wrong, no matter how small they were. They didn’t let me down.

Mike V.
Advanced Pistol Operator
Richmond, Calif., May 2016

This basic foundation is something that can’t be overemphasized

Jerry was fantastic, I really appreciate his direct approach and constructive feedback. Bruce is very analytical in his approach, so they balance well. Ray was great at filling in the gaps and throwing out the occasional verbal confidence booster. I came away from this class with significantly better trigger control and a lot more knowledge on how to improve it going forward. I shoot a lot, but this basic foundation is something that can’t be overemphasized.

Matt G.
Advanced Pistol Operator
Richmond, Calif., May 2016

I enjoy the learning format

I have attended two OpSpec Training classes and will continue to attend as time and availability allow. I enjoy the learning format and the real world experience that the instructors bring to the classes. The skills I have learned have made me a better and more capable shooter.

Tony K.
Advanced Tactical Pistol
Mesa, Ariz. - Dec. 2015

I recommend it to other law enforcement trainers

I was introduced to a new shooting technique and through instruction and high repetition I was able to learn and use it well. I’m a better shooter as a result of this course. As a firearms instructor for my Dept. and recruit level in my State I was amazed by the professionalism, knowledge and teaching techniques of both instructors. Watching them I was able to critique myself as an instructor and learn valuable skills to take back with me. This course was a dual learning experience for me and made me a better shooter and instructor. I highly recommend it to Law Enforcement Trainers.

David N.
MOAC
SIG Sauer Academy, Oct. 2015

Ample training time with each drill type

… a natural progression of Practical Fundamentals. The high round count provided ample training time with each drill type to work and experience the process of high speed marksmanship. The moments when everything came together completely fulfilled my expectations. The advice given by Jerry and the team was easy to understand and made an immediate improvement on my shooting ability. Bruce provided a detailed insight into the competitive shooting world. When he spoke it was almost as if he was giving away trade secrets.

G. Jones
MOAC
SIG Sauer Academy, Oct. 2105

Absolutely unique and effective

This was simply the most unique and effective training I’ve ever received. Period.

H.C.
MOAC
SIG Sauer Academy, Oct. 2015

MOAC was very well organized!

MOAC was very well organized. Each day had a specific objective. Progress was closely monitored so it was easy to tell what you had to work more on. The staff/student ratio was really good … course really helped me advance as a shooter. Recommend it highly.

John H.
MOAC
SIG Sauer Academy, Oct. 2015

The light came on during the course

Before this course my shooting was inconsistent at best, and sometimes just flat out terrible. The light came on during the course, and my shooting improved dramatically. I’ve made this my pledge: “I will see the sights, I will feel the trigger, I will call my shot.” Thanks for helping me put it all together.

Lee B.
Practical Fundmentals
Gap, Pa., June 2015

Safety was paramount

The instruction was very very good. Safety was paramount. The drills were sound and used the building block approach. The discussions caused me to change my mind about several ideas about accuracy and speed. My shooting improved in the short time spent in class and with the prescribed practice improvement showed up on the range immediately.

John
Practical Fundamentals
SIG Sauer Academy, June 2015

Far exceeded my expectations

This was my first OpSpec class and first time at the SIG SAUER Academy. I very much enjoyed the course and definitely went away with a whole new perspective and a new set of skills and knowledge, as well as a renewed level of confidence. The training methodology and level of expertise far exceeded my expectations.

Fred B.
Practical Fundamentals
SIG Sauer Academy, June 2015

New skills I feel confident I can bring home

I learned quite a bit from this course and have picked up many new skills that I feel confident that I can practice and develop on my own. Because of the broad range of skill sets taught in this course, I will likely re-take it again in the next year or two.

Rob L.
Practical Fundamentals
SIG Sauer Academy, June 2015

Questions answered quickly and thoroughly

Jerry and Randy were both great, offering feedback whenever it was needed. Each time I asked a question (a lot), it was answered quickly and very thoroughly.

Mike V.
Practical Fundamentals
Piru, Calif., Jan. 2015

Focus on the trigger was an eye opener

The instruction was great. The pace was good. I was very happy with the course. The focus of the “trigger” was an eye opener.

Paul. L
Practical Fundamentals
Piru, Calif., Jan. 2-15

Coaching aspect of this class is a valuable tool

The coaching aspect of this class is a valuable tool. Good to see the students take lessons and apply them as a coach to help other shooters.

Ray P.
Practical Fundamentals
Piru, Calif., Jan. 2015

Safety was important

The degree to which safety was stressed was exceptional and was as important – or perhaps more so – than the instruction in shooting. It’s way too easy to get complacent the more familiar you are with something. The constant reminder by all of the instructors was an excellent reminder that safety must always be considered first.

Jon W.
Practical Fundamentals
Mesa, Ariz., Dec. 2014

I’ll take this class again

Knowing that the class was never designed to turn out a polished shooter, I think overall the instructor did a good job of delivering the material in an order that continued to emphasize the previous lesson while layering the next lesson on top. I will likely take this class again…

Tony K.
Practical Fundamentals
Mesa, Ariz., Dec. 2014

Friendly and approachable

The class was extremely well put together, the instructors were friendly and approachable, and the pace was spot on to cover the material. I learned more than I had hoped and look forward to taking more classes in the future.

Michael F.
Practical Fundamentals
Mesa, Ariz., Dec. 2014